Monday, December 11, 2023

BSP’s Afzal Ansari disqualified as Lok Sabha member after being sentenced to 4-yr jail in criminal case


New Delhi: BSP’s Afzal Ansari was disqualified as a member of Lok Sabha on Monday after being convicted and sentenced to four years imprisonment in a kidnapping-and-murder case by a court in Uttar Pradesh.

Ansari, the Lok Sabha member from Ghazipur, was sentenced by an MP/MLA court on Saturday, while his brother, criminal-turned-politician Mukhtar Ansari, was also convicted in the same case and sent to 10 years in jail.

The brothers were booked under the UP Gangsters Act in connection with the murder of the then BJP MLA from Ghazipur, Krishnanad Rai, on November 29, 2005 and the kidnapping-murder of Varanasi-based trader Nand Kishore Rungta in 1997.

“Consequent upon his conviction…Afzal Ansari, Member of Lok Sabha representing the Ghazipur Parliamentary Constituency of Uttar Pradesh, stands disqualified from the membership of Lok Sabha from the date of his conviction i.e. 29 April, 2023 in terms of the provisions of Article 102(1)(e) of the Constitution of India read with Section 8 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951,” according to a Lok Sabha secretariat notification.

On March 24, Congress leader Rahul Gandhi lost his Lok Sabha membership after his conviction and two-year jail term in a 2019 defamation case.

Ansari will not be able to contest elections as his disqualification period is 10 years.

Citing Section 8 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, sources said Ansari’s disqualification will be for 10 years – four years of the jail term awarded by the court and another six years from his release date, as prescribed in the law.

Ansari can get his disqualification revoked if a superior court stays his conviction and sentencing.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

Vishnu Deo Sai to be Chhattisgarh CM; BJP’s tribal face whom Shah promised to make a ‘big man’

Raipur: Vishnu Deo Sai, a prominent tribal face of the Bharatiya Janata Party in Chhattisgarh, will be state...

Peaceful struggle for restoration of rights of J&K people will continue: NC leader Omar Abdullah

Srinagar: National Conference (NC) leader Omar Abdullah said on Sunday that his party will not disturb the peace...

Karni Sena chief’s killing: 2 shooters among 3 nabbed from Chandigarh

Jaipur: The Jaipur Police has arrested three men, including two shooters, for their alleged involvement in the Sukhdev...

Record-Breaking Cash Seizure: Odisha distillery’s ₹300 cr haul sets national milestone

Bhubaneswar: The cash seizure in the income-tax department's searches against an Odisha-based distillery company has become the "highest-ever"...